Today In Music, March 22nd


From the Rockmine Almanac for today (Saturday 22nd March):

Birth

1947. Harry Vanda (Easybeats) born Harold Wandan in The Hague, Holland.

On Tour

1997. Marilyn Manson‘s show at Honolulu’s Nimitz Concert Hall is cut short when the singer (real name Brian Warner) falls onstage, cutting an artery in his hand.

In Custody

1971. Every member of the Allman Brothers Band, their tour manager and an equipment truck driver are arrested at a truck stop in Jackson, Alabama. They’re charged with possession of marijuana, heroin and PCP and spend the night in the local jail before posting bail the next morning. Despite the seriousness of the charges, a plea bargain is eventually agreed that sees charges against two of the men dropped and everyone else pleeding guilty to disturbing the peace. A total of $ 4,350 in fines and costs is paid.

In Hospital

1956. Carl Perkins is involved in a car crash on his way from a recording session in Memphis to a TV appearance on the Ed Sullivan show to promote “Blue Suede Shoes”. His brother, Jay is killed in the crash but although Carl receives only minor injuries he never seems to recover his momentum and his career which was at its peak, with “Blue Suede Shoes”, slumps.

On Television
 
 

2006. The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson (CBS, U.S.A.) 262. Guests include: David Gray. I know it’s two days in a row for clips from this show – but who cares?

Death

1994. Dan Hartman dies of AIDS aged 42.

Music Paper From Today
 
musicweek-mar-22-2003.jpg 

Music Week from 22nd March 2003. A copy taken from Rockmine’s almost complete run of U.K. music papers from the last 45 years. 
 
Daily Babble.
 
Not so much babble as a moan today. Back in 1996, Rockmine’s website moved from being after the forward slash on my ISP’s domain to having its own address: http://www.rockmine.music.co.uk. It was a sub-domain of music.co.uk which had been set up for all U.K. music related sites. Back in those days even Virgin was there with http://www.virgin.music.co.uk.
 
Anyway, although I registered the .com, .net, .org and .tv domains for rockmine, I assumed the other would always be there. My contacts page even listed my email as admin@rockmine.music.co.uk. Last month I got a phone call telling me that email didn’t work and then I started to look into it. It seems that about 18 months ago that site just disappeared. A quick look on Google showed that more than 2,000 sites around the world still point to the old address and there’s probably a lot more.
 
I contacted the current owners of music.co.uk and asked if they could at least reactivate the old sub-domain and point to my site. If anything, they seemed somewhat affronted that I should be pointing to them but were kind enough to offer a link exchange.
 
My concern is that if it’s illegal to steal someone’s domain, should there not be some safeguard for someone legally residing on a sub-domain? It’s rather like the idea that when someone buys a block of flats they have to ensure the tenants tenure. With that in mind, I’ve contacted Nominet the U.K.’s domain registrar’s and am also mailing WIPO to seek their advice. 
 
Having held the sub-domain for 12 years now and it being widely listed throughout the web and in scores of books and magazines, it will be interesting to see if I can dispute the rights of someone who has come along recently and bought the domain it sits on. I will keep you posted!
 
If nothing else, I think I should talk to my friends at News Corp., after all they say there’s no such thing as bad publicity.
 
On a more archival level, my TV listing task continues apace. I’ve been going back through my index cards and wondering why I keep video tape at all. One listing was for David Bowie on Nationwide, BBC-1 5th June 1973. I’ve got it on an old Betamax tape which I should probably digitize but a quick look on YouTube uncovered it – and probably in higher quality.
 
Among the shows I’ve been listing in the last few days are “The Golden Shot”, “Marty Feldman’s Comedy Machine”, “Lift Off” and “Morecambe And Wise Show”. It’s odd that both European and American variety shows were more adventurous in their choice of guests. It wasn’t that unusual to see outrageous bands on U.S. shows but not in the U.K. where main-stream light-weight pop was the order of the day. Ho-hum. 
 

Go to Rockmine’s main site here.


© Copyright 1995 – 2008 Rockmine Archives. Use of this content is prohibited unless licensed by Rockmine Archives.
Leave a Reply

