Today In Music, February 5th


From the Rockmine Almanac for today (Tuesday 5th February):

Birth

1941. R&B singer/writer and producer Barrett Strong (recorded the original version of “Money” before working as a producer for Motown) born in Westpoint, Mississippi.

On Tour

1957. Bill Haley And The Comets arrive at Southampton aboard the liner Queen Elizabeth for their first U.K. tour. Their arrival is low-key until they get off the train at London’s Victoria Station when there is nearly a riot caused by the thousands of fans desparate to catch a glimpse of their heroes.

In Court

1998. Motley Crue drummer, Tommy Lee, pleads innocent to charges of assault in a fax to a court in Phoenix. The charges allege that he, along with Nikki Sixx, assaulted a security guard during a concert in the city in December 1997. A new hearing is scheduled for February 27th.

In Hospital

1982. Thelonius Monk, 61, suffers a stroke and is rushed to Englewood Hospital in New Jersey. A hospital spokesman said he was in a coma and “his condition is regarded as poor”.

On Television

1967. The Monkees (U.S.A.) in an episode entitled, “The Devil And Peter Tork”.

Death

1998. Timothy Kelly (Slaughter) dies when his car is involved in a collision with an articulated truck in northwest Arizona aged 34.

Daily Babble
 
Spent most of yesterday trying to bring my TV listings up to date and make sure my spreadsheets worked. Different versions of Excel on different machines over the years has left me with larger fields showing no data, just squiggly lines! Thankfully, I have a text back-up for everything but finding which is the most up-to-date or complete is a time-consuming task.
 
I’ve got a large white board in my office with a list of all the TV shows I’ve got but it’s woefully out of date. Many are only up to 2004 but my listing for Taratata stops in 1997! Anyone who can help me out with that would be a great help. Somehow, I left most U.K. shows off the list. I know I’ve got them from years of going through the music papers listing who and what was on but for now they’re eluding me.
 
Before Christmas I had a few days in the library combing through daily papers for 1958 pulling out music news and taking the TV listings but I seem to have mislaid them for now. Anyway, I’m going to get back to that now. At the top of the white board is the total of listings. It’s currently at 10,498. It will be intriguing to see what it is when I’m finished. I’ll keep you posted.   

Go to Rockmine’s main site here.


© Copyright 1995 – 2008 Rockmine Archives. Use of this content is prohibited unless licensed by Rockmine Archives.
Leave a Reply

